Thoughts on the 2012 Presidential Election


(Spoiler alert: This piece is opinionated!)

Overall, the whole election process over the past year and a half has been long, tedious, and quite humorous (thanks to the comedy of Jon Stewart and The Daily Show.)  I can’t help but remember my thoughts just before the start of the Republican primaries back in December, where the selection of candidates looked like a circus troupe. In case you forgot, some included: Pizza Guy Herman Cain, “Space Man” Newt Gingrich, and “Ass-Juice” Rick Sanctorum (hence the last name’s meaning on the ever popular Urban Dictionary.) I was extremely upset with the situation, as this would be my first chance to vote after my 18th birthday in October. How could I cast my first-ever vote as an American for someone I didn’t care for? Not voting was out of the question – the wait until the presidential election was too long. I’ll admit, I eventually voted for Ron Paul, who gained my sympathy with his sincerity, sage, and practical arguments in the debates. Mitt Romney, who I knew would continue on to face President Obama in the Presidential Election, just didn’t appeal to me as a candidate. I’m sure I’m not alone in saying that as a voter, I was offended. I can’t remember one Republican voter who showed support for a particular candidate (except for my hardcore right-wing uncle who vied for Gingrich.) It seemed to me that voters were forced to cast their ballot for someone they didn’t like or knew wouldn’t win (Paul.) I believe this is one of the main reasons for President Obama’s reelection.

Let’s now talk about Tuesday’s election. That entire day I felt unbelievably nervous, though I have no damn clue why. Unlike the politically polarized country, I didn’t care who won. Don’t take this as ignorance, as I had heard convincing (and not so convincing) arguments from both sides of the spectrum. I think that my worries came most from how the world would react based on which candidate won. Throughout the election process, I heard a surprisingly vast amount of claims from both sides that each opposing candidate would ruin the United States and bring about its downfall. We can logically conclude that if Romney won on Tuesday, the backlash would have been much different than that of what actually happened (a Republican meltdown full of slander and misery.) A Romney victory would have angered many of Obama’s core supporters who have been pushing for progressive politics and equal rights for years. It also would have marked a change from the last two presidencies, both of which lasted 8 years each.

As of now, the election is over. The time for “could’ves,” “should’ves,”and “would’ves” is far past. As a country, right now is one of the most important times in American history: with such divided politics, we need to focus on how to make the most of Obama’s reelection. Over the past two days, I’ve grown quite content with the outcome of the election. I’m not sure if Obama’s vast plan for success will work or not, but his reelection shows that our country is committed. We’ve chosen to continue with a political plan that has been widely criticized, yet has always been the foremost option. US voters’ decision to reelect the president and his plan for success confirms our concern for the nation and that we take it very seriously. Let’s face it: at this time in our country’s history, Romney was a bad candidate. “Mittens” tried to differentiate his politics from Obama’s to the point where it seemed almost nonsensical to gamble with a completely new approach. If the Republicans had chosen someone more cohesive, reasonable, and appealing, Obama wouldn’t be taking the oath again in January.

All in all, Obama’s here to stay. Elections tend to lull citizens into la-la land for a short time, (especially with the president’s revolutionary victory speech referencing the equality of homosexuals) but once the spell is lifted, Obama must begin the tremendous task of repairing this country’s crippled economy. Sure, he, along with the overwhelmingly Democratic government can bring much-needed progressivism into the country, (homosexual equality, women’s rights in the workplace, and legalization of marijuana) but we can’t move forward unless we pick ourselves up first.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journalism, News, Opinion

Start an argument here!

